This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Skotte Business Travel

Lufthansa City Center Business Travel

Telephone: +45 33149900
+45 33149910

Nyhavn 20 D,
1051 Copenhagen

Visa Waiver Programme for travellers to USA.


The Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) is already in function via the internet for citizens in countries within USA's Visa Waiver Programme (VWP), so now you can apply for prior approval when travelling to USA. All VWP travellers MUST go to the website linked with Department of Homeland Securities (DHS) and fill in a form and answer a number of questions if they want access to USA regardless of whether you are travelling by plane or ship. Entry will be denied if you have not obtained an approval beforehand.

How does the Electronic System for Travel Authorization work

Travellers must log on to the ESTA website on the link below and fill in an application form in English:


The new ESTA is pretty much identical with the green form that travellers by plane has to fill in before landing in the USA. ESTA secures thereby that danish citizens also in the future can travel to the USA in connection with the new VWP, which means that they can stay in the USA for up to 90 days without a visa..

It is recommended that danish citizens, at the latest 72 hours befor departure for the USA gets the approval from ESTA. If you are approved, the approval will normally come within a minute. If you are not approved, for one reason or another, you will also get tye answer quickly and you will then have to visit the Embassy of the USA to apply for a visa. You can also be informed, that your application is being processed, due to the fact that DHS need a more thorough look at it. Therefore the best advice is to seek the electronic authorisation from ESTA, when buying your travel to the USA.

An approval is valid for 2 years meant for frequent trips, unless the passport expires during those 2 days.

It should be mentioned, that the approval is NOT a "guarantee" for access to the USA. An ESTA approval only authrises the traveller to board a plane or ship going to the USA under the VWP. (For more information go to: www.CBP.goc/travel and then click "For International Visitors")


VWP countries

Countries included in the VWP are for the moment:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom.